British Wild Orchids

As promised this upload is full of British Orchids that were taken in Dorset and Somerset over the last two years – mainly in Spring and Summer.  I love the wild flowers of Spring and Summer, and after a winter of it raining sideways – I can’t wait for the Snowdrops, Crocuses, Orchids & Bluebells!!

The Early Purple Orchids are the first to appear in Spring, followed by the Green-veined Orchids (which come in white, pink & purple).  All the rest follow on!!  There are so many more species which I wish to take as they are so stunning!!

Coming from a background of Thai Orchids I was quite surprised to see Orchids in the UK – and they really are beautiful especially the small individual petals.   I’ve also taken some Bee Orchids and Pyramidal Orchids (but can’t find the photos yet – computer gremlins)!!

~ by mialewis on July 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “British Wild Orchids”

  1. Stunning collection Mia, these would make a superb collection of prints!

  2. Oh you clever person – what lovely pictures. I am useless with a camera, even with a digital one!! I have seem some of these wild orchids but not all of them – so I must continue looking!!

Leave a comment